Russia and the Trump Administration

Russia and the Trump Administration, by Will Saunders

I’m not big on conspiracy theories, but sometimes I think of certain things and one just hit me last night. (Really, I do feed into conspiracy theories. I’ve seen the movie, Conspiracy Theory, more times than I care to mention. I know many things are not what they appear to be on the surface). The latest in a string of developments with Donald Trump, members of his administration, and the Russia investigation is the upcoming testimony of former FBI Director James Comey.

The last time a witness was due to testify against a sitting president on matters of this serious magnitude, the witness died before testifying. We studied this extensively when I was an undergrad and in grad school too. William Casey, the CIA Director at the time, was scheduled to testify about his knowledge of the Iran-Contra scandal. By way of background, The Iran-Contra scandal (also known as Irangate, Iran-Contra Affair, and Contragate) was an arms deal in which the United States orchestrated the sale of munitions and weaponry to Iran to support the Contras in Nicaragua, which was to ultimately effect the release of US hostages.

It was a big deal because such an arrangement was illegal by virtue of the Boland Amendment, a series of foreign policy directives promulgated to specifically prohibit the use of US-funds for the Contras in Nicaragua. Although Lieutenant Colonel Oliver North (he was indicted and later convicted) was a loyal Marine who fell on the sword and took all the blame (some of his convictions were overturned on appeal, and President George Herbert Walker Bush later pardoned him for the remaining charges), Director Casey’s testimony would surely have implicated President Reagan and might have brought him to ruins.

Anyhow, the day before Casey was supposed to testify, he fell sick as a result of what they said were seizures (I don’t believe it was seizures, but that’s just me). He was too sick to testify. His doctor supposedly diagnosed him with a brain tumor, which is what led to the seizures, and he was rushed to surgery. This tumor was previously undiagnosed. He died without testifying. I always thought it was strange that he suddenly got sick – almost overnight – then wheeled off to surgery, then died before he could testify. Maybe I think too much, but I don’t believe in coincidences.

I hope Mr. Comey keeps himself safe. I wouldn’t want anything to prevent him from testifying. Mr. Comey had better go into hiding and stay there until he has completed his testimony. Frankly if it were me, I would have to think long and hard before I testified against a US president, even one as contemptible as Donald Trump. Things happen to people with information that could impugn the reputation of a president. I won’t even go into the controversy surrounding Vince Foster and his alleged suicide. You can look that up yourself. Some people think it was just a suicide while others think it was so much more than that. I fall into the latter group.

 

About Will S.

A nouveau Taurus, writing about my view of the world around me. From politics, to social problem, to public corruption, music and movies to pretty much anything I feel inspired to write.
This entry was posted in Conspiracy Theory, Donald Trump, politics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

