MYOB*

 

The other day, I was in a store and spent $4 on Power Ball – two plays. The store employee asked if I wanted two tickets or a single ticket. I indicated a single ticket would be fine. As I walked away, I said, “If I win the jackpot, you win too.”

Another customer who was leaving the store as I was leaving overheard my comment and said, “You’re crazy. If I win the jackpot, I’m not giving any to the store employee.”  I suppose that customer was in the dark on these matters. Retailers that sell a ticket that wins the top prize earns between 5% and 6% of the jackpot. The exact amount varies slightly from one state to the next, but it is capped at $1 million. The current Power Ball jackpot is a little over $1 billion. That’s a nice Christmas in July for a lucky customer and for the store owner. So, when I said to the store owner that he’ll win if I win, I wasn’t saying I was giving him part of my winnings. I was merely saying he automatically wins around 5% of the jackpot if my ticket is a jackpot winner.

I explained all of this to that customer. She was surprised. She had no idea. I won’t judge her too much, though. She’s probably not alone. I surmise many people don’t know this. Ordinarily I advocate for people to tend to their own affairs and stay out of mine. But by interjecting herself into my affairs, she learned something she otherwise might not have learned.

* MYOB = mind your own business, in case you didn’t know.

About Will S.

A nouveau Taurus, writing about my view of the world around me. From politics, to social problems, to public corruption, music and movies to pretty much anything I feel inspired to write. We all need meaningful activities and hobbies to add value to our lives and take our minds away from the stress of the real world. Blogging does that for me.
This entry was posted in Gambling and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment